Community‎ > ‎Community Updates‎ > ‎

What Kelloggs says about Gelatin in its products

posted Nov 30, 2009, 8:39 AM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Nov 30, 2009, 8:43 AM ]
Kellogg confirms using Beef and Pork for Kosher Gelatin in some of their products. Please read the article below for more information. For additional information, visit: http://www.kelloggnutrition.com/util/faq.html#3a


"From: <kellogg@casupport. com>

Date: Mon, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:31 PM
Subject: Consumer Affairs


Thank you for your inquiry regarding gelatin used in some of our products.  We are glad you contacted us and we are happy to provide you with this information.

Gelatin is used to help the texture of the product and is derived from either beef or pork.  All gelatin used at Kellogg is certified Kosher.

Gelatin derived from pork is found in Kellogg's® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives, for example Kellogg's® Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal and Kellogg's Smorz® cereal.  It is also found in all varieties of Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats® Squares and Special K® Protein Snack Bars.

Gelatin derived from beef is found in all varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts®, Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal, and Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats™ cereal.  None of the equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts® is used in the production of the other pastries.  As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin. The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.

All Kellogg's® fruit snacks contain gelatin.  In fruit snacks beef and pork gelatin are used interchangeably based on availability in the marketplace.

Again, thank you for contacting us.  We appreciate your loyal use of our products and hope that this provides you with the information you need to make food choices appropriate for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Consumer Affairs Department
Comments