Community‎ > ‎Community Updates‎ > ‎

Is Cheese Vegetarian ?

posted Jul 1, 2009, 2:08 PM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Dec 21, 2009, 10:14 AM ]
Cheese is often made with rennet or rennin, which is used to coagulate the dairy product. According to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, rennin, which is an enzyme used in coagulating cheese, is obtained from milk-fed calves. "After butchering, the fourth stomach...is removed and freed of its food content." After this the stomach goes through several steps including being dry-salted, washed, scraped to remove surface fat, stretched onto racks where moisture is removed, then finally ground and mixed with a salt solution until the rennin is extracted. To read more go to: www.vrg.org/nutshell/cheese.htm

So if you are Jain/Hindu and want to be sensitive about your food [I am ] pick correct cheese.

GOOD NEWS FOR VEGETARIANS

All Horizon Organic cheeses are suitable for vegetarians. Available in  ALBERTSONS and  KROGER. For more info go to: http://www.horizondairy.com
Do not use Kraft cheeses conflicting information coming from the company. Annie's mac and cheeses boxes are rennetles.
A List of vegetarian cheeses by brand. http://cheese.joyousliving.com/CheeseListBrand.aspx
Some health food stores provide a rennet-free cheese list upon request. At this time Trader Joe’s Market  is the only store that posts a rennet-free list on their web site.



Other Vegetarian suitable Cheese are in DFW Area: 
Mozzarella Company Caciotas, Montasio and Pecorino. Mozzarella Company, 2944 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75226, (214) 741-4072


Resources:
Here's a list of vegetarian cheeses:

VEGETARIAN CHEESES

http://www.traderjoes.com/Attachments/Vegetarian.pdf (May contain Eggs)
http://www.traderjoes.com/Attachments/Vegan.pdf (Mo Meat, No Egg, No Milk Product)


Bresse Bleu Montrachet. Bresse Bleu Inc., N. 2002 Hwy 26,Watertown, WI 53094, (414) 261-3036. The Montrachet varieties are their only products which are vegetarian.

Cabot Monterey Jack and Vitalait Cheese. Cabot Creamery,PO Box 128, Cabot, VT 05647, (802) 563-2231. These products use microbial systems. Their cheddar uses rennet.

Coach Farm Goat's Milk Cheeses. The Coach Farm, RR1 Box 445, Pine Plains, NY 12567, (518) 398-5325. All of their cheese products are vegetarian, without preservatives.

Falbo Cheese. Falbo Cheese, 1931 N. 15th Ave., Melrose Park, IL 60160, 800-982-0753. They carry a wide variety of Italian cheeses, all of which use only microbial systems and are therefore vegetarian. Available in grocery stores.

Fleur de Lait Neufchatel Cheese with Garden Vegetables, and Neufchatel Cheese with Herb and Spice. Fleur de Lait Foods,Ltd., 254 Custer Ave., New Holland, PA 17557. We have determined these two varieties of Fleur de Lait cheeses to be vegetarian from reading their labels.

Kraft Domestic Swiss and Kraft Neufchatel Cheese. Kraft General Foods, Kraft Court, Glenview, IL 60025. These are their only two products that are vegetarian.

Lifetime Natural and Lifetime Fat Free Cheeses. Lifeline Food Co., Inc., 426 Orange St., Seaside, CA 93955, (408) 899-5040. All their products use only microbial enzymes.

Morningland Dairy Organic Raw Milk Natural Cheeses.Morningland Dairy, Rt. 1, Box 188B, Mountain View, MO 65548,(417) 469-3817. All of their 13 varieties of cheeses are vegetarian, organic and contain no artificial colors. Mail order.

Mozzarella Company Caciotas, Montasio and Pecorino. Mozzarella Company, 2944 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75226, (214) 741-4072. These are their varieties which contain no animal rennet. Cow's milk and goat's milk cheeses available.

Organic Valley Farms Organic Cheeses. Organic Valley, Main St.,PO Box 159, La Farge, WI 54639, (608) 625-2602. Organic Valley offers both raw milk and regular cheeses, all of which are vegetarian and organic.

Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese. Kraft General Foods, Kraft Court,Glenview, IL 60025.

Pollio Mozzarella and Pollio Ricotta Cheese. Pollio Dairy Products Corporation, 120 Mineola Blvd.,Mineola, NY 11501, (516) 741-8000. These are probably available in regular grocery stores. 

Shalom Farms Organic Cheese. Shalom Farms,RD 1, Box 1628A, Bethel, PA 19507, (717)933-4880. All their cheeses are vegetarian. Raw milk and regular cheese. 

Tillamook Cheese (except for the Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese). Tillamook County Creamery Association, PO Box 313, Tillamook, OR 97141. All Cheddar (Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extra Sharp, Kosher/Vegetarian, Smoked and Reduced-Fat), Colby, Colby-Jack, Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Pepper-Jack, Reduced-Fat Monterey Jack, Shred Blends and Swiss cheeses use microbial rennet.. [updated 6/4/2005 by The Natural Connection]

Walnut Acres Cheeses (except for Baby Swiss). Walnut Acres,Walnut Acres Rd, Penns Creek, PA 17862, 800-433-3998 to place an order, 800-344-9025 for a catalog. Walnut Acres is an organic farm which has a wide variety of both cow's milk and goat's milk cheeses available by mail order. The Baby Swiss variety is being discontinued.


If it's not on that list, I seriously doubt that it's vegetarian.
SORRY!


Other Resources:
Comments