Community‎ > ‎

Community Updates

Silver on sweets - VARAKH is NON-VEG

posted Nov 30, 2009, 9:11 AM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Dec 9, 2009, 9:22 AM ]

Videos explains 1000 words. Click here

Statement: Almost all Varakh product is Non-Veg.

Solution: Ask you local sweet mart, to make you sweet without Varakh (Call them before), hopefully they will save it for you.

Vegetarian Varakh Products: http://www.kskvarakh.com/
Please let us know if you find more sources for Vegetarian Product.

Findings: 'Beauty Without Cruelty', a Pune-based NGO that investigates into product ingredients, has produced a remarkable booklet on the varakh industry. Here is their report on how it is made.

*The varakh-makers select animals at the slaughterhouse. Each animal is felt for the softness of its skin before it is killed. This means that a substantial number of goat, sheep and cattle are killed specifically for the industry.

Their skins are soaked in filthy, infested vats for 12 days to dehair them.

Then, workers peel away the epidermal layer, which they call jhilli, just under the top layer of the skin in a single piece. These layers are soaked for 30 minutes in another decoction to soften them and left to dry on wooden boards. Once these are dry, the workers cut out square pieces 19 cm by 15 cm. These pieces are made into pouches called auzaar and stacked into booklets. Each booklet has a cover of thick lamb suede called khol. Thin strips of silver called alagaa are placed inside the pouches.

Workers now hit the booklet with wooden mallets for three hours to beat the silver inside into the ultra-thin varakh of a thickness less than one micron called '999'. This varakh is then sent to sweet shops*.

Here are the statistics that you should know. An animal's skin can make 20-25 pieces/pouches only. Each booklet has 360 pouches. One booklet is used to make 30,000 varakh pieces - less than the daily supply of a single big mithai shop.

About 12,500 animals are killed for one kg of varakh. Every year, 30,000 kg of varakh (30 tonnes) are eaten on mithai. 2.5 crore booklets are made by varakh companies that keep their slaughterhouse connection secret. But the truth is that not only is this industry killing animals furiously, much of the animal tissue that the booklet is made of remains in the varakh.

Each Jain knows in his heart that varakh is non-vegetarian. But they still use these dreadful items of mass destruction to decorate the idols of Jain tirthankars. How amazing that the idols of those that preached and practised strict non-violence to all reatures should now be covered with slaughterhouse derived silver foils. Jains are the biggest buyers of the varakh industry. Many try to bluff themselves by saying that the varakh is machine-made.

'Beauty Without Cruelty' has done a thorough investigation and found that there is not a single machine-made varakh piece in this country (or even the world).

On the web, there is one letter from a person, Jalandhra, claiming that he has a company which has "fully automatic machines manufactured with German collaboration to beat silver pieces in between a special Indian manufactured paper in a hygienic and controlled atmosphere run round the clock by qualified Engineers and experienced R&D team". Initially, we were importing the special paper from Germany.

But when I followed this up, no factory of the given name, or even address, was not found.The production of varakh is done mainly in north India: Patna, Bhagalpur, Muzaffarpur and Gaya (which is a Buddhist holy centre), in Bihar; Kanpur, Meerut and Varanasi (the holy city of Hindus) in Uttar Pradesh; and Jaipur, Indore, Ahmedabad and Mumbai. The booklets come to them from the slaughterhouses of Delhi, Lucknow, Agra and Ratlam. 

Not only is varakh non-vegetarian, it is also very bad for your body - whether you are vegetarian or not. The silver cannot be digested; therefore, there are no benefits from its consumption . A study done in November 2005 by the Industrial Toxicology Research Centre in Lucknow on varakh says that the silver foil available in the market has toxic and carcinogenic metals in the thin silver foil, nickel, lead, chromium and cadmium.

Damages Body also Over half of the analysed silver foils had lower silver purity than the 99.9 per cent purity stipulated by the prevention of food adulteration act of India.

When such foil enters into the body, it releases heavy metals that can lead to cancer. The report also details the unhygienic conditions in which workers put silver in small leather bags and beat it into foil in filthy shops.

It is time we refused varakh-covered mithai, fruit or paan. 

Mithai shops should be taken to court for not labelling their products non-vegetarian, before selling them. I request everyone reading this article to strictly avoid the sweets that have a silver work on them. They are purely Non - Vegetarian. ISKCON also confirms their non - vegetarian nature


Reference:
http://www.jainworld.com/jainbooks/images/20/UNIVERSAL_DECLARATION_OF_TH.htm
http://abafna.googlepages.com/varak

What Kelloggs says about Gelatin in its products

posted Nov 30, 2009, 8:39 AM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Nov 30, 2009, 8:43 AM ]

Kellogg confirms using Beef and Pork for Kosher Gelatin in some of their products. Please read the article below for more information. For additional information, visit: http://www.kelloggnutrition.com/util/faq.html#3a


"From: <kellogg@casupport. com>

Date: Mon, Oct 26, 2009 at 10:31 PM
Subject: Consumer Affairs


Thank you for your inquiry regarding gelatin used in some of our products.  We are glad you contacted us and we are happy to provide you with this information.

Gelatin is used to help the texture of the product and is derived from either beef or pork.  All gelatin used at Kellogg is certified Kosher.

Gelatin derived from pork is found in Kellogg's® cereal products that contain marshmallow additives, for example Kellogg's® Marshmallow Froot Loops cereal and Kellogg's Smorz® cereal.  It is also found in all varieties of Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats® Squares and Special K® Protein Snack Bars.

Gelatin derived from beef is found in all varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts®, Kellogg's® Frosted Mini-Wheats® cereal, and Kellogg's® Rice Krispies Treats™ cereal.  None of the equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts® is used in the production of the other pastries.  As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin. The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.

All Kellogg's® fruit snacks contain gelatin.  In fruit snacks beef and pork gelatin are used interchangeably based on availability in the marketplace.

Again, thank you for contacting us.  We appreciate your loyal use of our products and hope that this provides you with the information you need to make food choices appropriate for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Consumer Affairs Department

September Planning

posted Jul 13, 2009, 10:31 AM by Jsnt Admin

Jai Jinendra:

September flyer has been posted on our website http://www.dfwjains.org/
Key events and discourses this month include:
Swami Vatsalya meeting in Fretz Park on Sunday, Sep 6th.
Discourses by Ujwalaben & Dineshbhai Shah, Sep 5th
Discourses by Tarlaben Doshi, Sep 7th - 9th
Pathshala for kids start on Sep 13th
We are looking for volunteers for Swami Vatsalya, so if you are interested, please contact Hitesh Mehta (hiteshm10@yahoo.com).

Also, we are asking each family to review & commit new pledges and convert your pledges to contributions soon.

Regards,
JSNT Board

Pandit Dhirajbhai Mehta Lecture(Live Video)

posted Jul 1, 2009, 2:08 PM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Jul 2, 2009, 5:48 AM ]

You can listen to JAANA (Jain Adhyatma Academy of North America) shibir lectures on the website below.  Recorded sessions are also available next day on the same website.

Speakers & Agenda:

Dr. Bharilji                    From Pravachansar

Abhayji                        Mokshmarg Prakashak - Mithya Gnan ka Swaroop

Dhirajbhai Panditji         From Tatvarthsutra

 

Tuesday, June 30

9:00 - 10:00 am            Gurudev's CD

10:15-11:15 am            Abhayji

11:15-12:15 am            Dr. Bharilji

3:15-4:45 pm                Dhirajbhai Panditji

5:30-6:30 pm                Abhayji

8:30-9:30 pm                Gyan Gosti (Question/Answers)

 

Wednesday, July 1

9:00 - 10:00 am            Abhyaji

10:15-11:15 am            Dhirajbhia Pandtji

11:15-12:15 pm            Dr. Bharilji

3:15-4:15 pm               Open Forum

4:15-5:15 pm               Abhayji

5:30-6:30 pm               Dhirajbhai Panditji

8:30-9:30 om               Gyan Gosti

 

Thursday, July 2

9:00 - 10:00 am           Dr. Bharilji

10:15-11:15 am            Abhayji

11:15-12:15 am            Dhirajbhai Panditji

8:30-9:30 pm               Gyan Gosti (Question/Answers)


Is Cheese Vegetarian ?

posted Jul 1, 2009, 2:08 PM by Jsnt Admin   [ updated Dec 21, 2009, 10:14 AM ]

Cheese is often made with rennet or rennin, which is used to coagulate the dairy product. According to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, rennin, which is an enzyme used in coagulating cheese, is obtained from milk-fed calves. "After butchering, the fourth stomach...is removed and freed of its food content." After this the stomach goes through several steps including being dry-salted, washed, scraped to remove surface fat, stretched onto racks where moisture is removed, then finally ground and mixed with a salt solution until the rennin is extracted. To read more go to: www.vrg.org/nutshell/cheese.htm

So if you are Jain/Hindu and want to be sensitive about your food [I am ] pick correct cheese.

GOOD NEWS FOR VEGETARIANS

All Horizon Organic cheeses are suitable for vegetarians. Available in  ALBERTSONS and  KROGER. For more info go to: http://www.horizondairy.com
Do not use Kraft cheeses conflicting information coming from the company. Annie's mac and cheeses boxes are rennetles.
A List of vegetarian cheeses by brand. http://cheese.joyousliving.com/CheeseListBrand.aspx
Some health food stores provide a rennet-free cheese list upon request. At this time Trader Joe’s Market  is the only store that posts a rennet-free list on their web site.



Other Vegetarian suitable Cheese are in DFW Area: 
Mozzarella Company Caciotas, Montasio and Pecorino. Mozzarella Company, 2944 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75226, (214) 741-4072


Resources:
Here's a list of vegetarian cheeses:

VEGETARIAN CHEESES

http://www.traderjoes.com/Attachments/Vegetarian.pdf (May contain Eggs)
http://www.traderjoes.com/Attachments/Vegan.pdf (Mo Meat, No Egg, No Milk Product)


Bresse Bleu Montrachet. Bresse Bleu Inc., N. 2002 Hwy 26,Watertown, WI 53094, (414) 261-3036. The Montrachet varieties are their only products which are vegetarian.

Cabot Monterey Jack and Vitalait Cheese. Cabot Creamery,PO Box 128, Cabot, VT 05647, (802) 563-2231. These products use microbial systems. Their cheddar uses rennet.

Coach Farm Goat's Milk Cheeses. The Coach Farm, RR1 Box 445, Pine Plains, NY 12567, (518) 398-5325. All of their cheese products are vegetarian, without preservatives.

Falbo Cheese. Falbo Cheese, 1931 N. 15th Ave., Melrose Park, IL 60160, 800-982-0753. They carry a wide variety of Italian cheeses, all of which use only microbial systems and are therefore vegetarian. Available in grocery stores.

Fleur de Lait Neufchatel Cheese with Garden Vegetables, and Neufchatel Cheese with Herb and Spice. Fleur de Lait Foods,Ltd., 254 Custer Ave., New Holland, PA 17557. We have determined these two varieties of Fleur de Lait cheeses to be vegetarian from reading their labels.

Kraft Domestic Swiss and Kraft Neufchatel Cheese. Kraft General Foods, Kraft Court, Glenview, IL 60025. These are their only two products that are vegetarian.

Lifetime Natural and Lifetime Fat Free Cheeses. Lifeline Food Co., Inc., 426 Orange St., Seaside, CA 93955, (408) 899-5040. All their products use only microbial enzymes.

Morningland Dairy Organic Raw Milk Natural Cheeses.Morningland Dairy, Rt. 1, Box 188B, Mountain View, MO 65548,(417) 469-3817. All of their 13 varieties of cheeses are vegetarian, organic and contain no artificial colors. Mail order.

Mozzarella Company Caciotas, Montasio and Pecorino. Mozzarella Company, 2944 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75226, (214) 741-4072. These are their varieties which contain no animal rennet. Cow's milk and goat's milk cheeses available.

Organic Valley Farms Organic Cheeses. Organic Valley, Main St.,PO Box 159, La Farge, WI 54639, (608) 625-2602. Organic Valley offers both raw milk and regular cheeses, all of which are vegetarian and organic.

Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese. Kraft General Foods, Kraft Court,Glenview, IL 60025.

Pollio Mozzarella and Pollio Ricotta Cheese. Pollio Dairy Products Corporation, 120 Mineola Blvd.,Mineola, NY 11501, (516) 741-8000. These are probably available in regular grocery stores. 

Shalom Farms Organic Cheese. Shalom Farms,RD 1, Box 1628A, Bethel, PA 19507, (717)933-4880. All their cheeses are vegetarian. Raw milk and regular cheese. 

Tillamook Cheese (except for the Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese). Tillamook County Creamery Association, PO Box 313, Tillamook, OR 97141. All Cheddar (Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extra Sharp, Kosher/Vegetarian, Smoked and Reduced-Fat), Colby, Colby-Jack, Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Pepper-Jack, Reduced-Fat Monterey Jack, Shred Blends and Swiss cheeses use microbial rennet.. [updated 6/4/2005 by The Natural Connection]

Walnut Acres Cheeses (except for Baby Swiss). Walnut Acres,Walnut Acres Rd, Penns Creek, PA 17862, 800-433-3998 to place an order, 800-344-9025 for a catalog. Walnut Acres is an organic farm which has a wide variety of both cow's milk and goat's milk cheeses available by mail order. The Baby Swiss variety is being discontinued.


If it's not on that list, I seriously doubt that it's vegetarian.
SORRY!


Other Resources:

1-5 of 5

Comments